Optus turns on 700Mhz 4G in 10 new locations

Optus today announced that it has turned on ten new 700Mhz 4G test sites across Australia. The test sites include Toowoomba, Ballarat, Bendigo, Coffs Harbour, Dubbo, Nowra, Port Macquarie, Urunga, Bundaberg and Murray Bridge. Optus is also trialling its 700Mhz network in Darwin.

Optus customers will require a compatible 4G 700MHz devices such as the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus, Samsung Galaxy S5, LG G3, Sony Xperia Z3 and HTC One (M8) to make use of the service. 

In addition, Optus has switched on 2600Mhz 4G services in 40 regional centres across Australia, including Orange, Cairns, Toowoomba, Port Augusta and Wodonga. The telco's complete coverage map can be found here

Optus is planning to expand its 4G network to cover 90% of the Australian population by April 2015. 

Leave a Reply